Candidate filing to begin
HELENA – With the start of a new decade, it’s also the start of election season. January 9th is the first day for candidates to file for public office in Montana. The filing period will continue until 5 p.m. March 9th. Below are some names of people who have expressed their interest in running.  
Click here for the latest results.

Governor- Republican:  

Tim Fox (current attorney general)  

State Senator Al Olszewski  (R - Kalispell)

Greg Gianforte (current U.S. House Rep.)  

Governor- Democrat:  

Former state Rep. Reilly Neill   

House Minority Leader Casey Schreiner  

Lt. Gov Mike Cooney  

Whitney Williams   

U.S. House - Republican:  

Secretary of State Corey Stapleton  

State Auditor Matt Rosendale

Lewis and Clark County Republican chairman Joe Dooling  

Timothy Alan Johnson of Corvallis  

U.S. House - Democrat:  

Kathleen Williams (former state House Rep., Bozeman)  

Tom Winter (current state House Rep., Missoula)  

Democrat Matt Rains of Simms 

Senate- Republican:  

Steve Daines (incumbent)  

Senate- Democrat:  

Helena Mayor Wilmot Collins

Cora Neumann of Bozeman   

Michael Knoles of Bozeman  

John Mues of Loma

Secretary of State -Democrat:  

State Sen. Bryce Bennett (D - Missoula)

Secretary of State -Republican:  

Scott Sales (current senate president)  

State Rep. Forrest Mandeville's (R-Columbus)  

Christi Jacobsen (current deputy secretary of state)

Bowen Greenwood clerk of the Montana Supreme Court

State Superintendent  

Elsie Arntzen  
Melissa Romano  

Attorney General - Democrat  

Raph Graybill 

State Auditor

Troy Downing

The Secretary of State's Office says they normally have about 30 people run, so we will have a full up to date list of the candidates running as soon as they drop in.  

Another important date to keep in mind is October 6th. That is the beginning of late voter registration to be able to vote in the General Election which is November 3rd.  

Recommended for you