School Elections Across Yellowstone County - KULR-8 Television, Billings, MT

School Elections Across Yellowstone County

Posted: Updated:

Yellowstone County election officials say they are expecting a record number of ballots returned for the eight school elections held across the county Tuesday.

As of 5 p.m., election officials say around 40,000 ballots were returned. On the ballot for this election are a mix of School Board of Trustees race, and mill levies approval.

Voters in School District Two's Trustee Zone one, two, four, and six, as well as voters in Canyon Creek, Independent, and Lockwood School Districts will vote only on mill levies.

Voters in Laurel and Pioneer School Districts will also vote on Board of Trustees candidates, in addition to mill levies. In addition, voters in SD2's Trustee Zone three, five, and seven will also vote on new trustees. However, the only contested race for SD2 is in Trustee Zone seven, which covers the West End. Incumbent trustee Connie Wardell is defending her seat against challenger Kevin Toohill.

Voters in Shepherd and Huntley Project School Districts will vote on Board of Trustees candidates only.

KULR-8 News will be following the results of the elections, when results trickle in after the polls close at 8 p.m.